CMM Inspection

Manufacturers and testing services use coordinate measuring machines, or CMMs, to inspect the dimensional quality and characteristics of manufactured goods to ensure they meet design requirements. CMM inspections use these machines to measure parts or the entirety of a three-dimensional object and compare those measurements against the design file's specifications. They measure objects along the X, Y, and Z axes to provide a three-dimensional assessment of the product.

CMMs work by having a probe that moves along the surface of a product or uses sensors to indirectly measure surface qualities. Along with its probe, each machine has a base or bed that holds the product and a computer that both directs the probe and gathers the resulting measurement data.

CMM Capabilities and Components

Because CMMs can measure components along all three axes, the machines can collect a lot of in-depth data about the item. The probe offers very sensitive readings because the CMM's attached computer notes the exact position of the probe against a product's surface, allowing it to map the measured object's orientation, size, features, and position. Some of the different types of measurements it can take include the following:

  • Dimensional: CMMs can assess the entire dimension of a product by collecting measurements across all three axes.
  • Profile: It can create in-depth profile readings of 3D and 2D parts.
  • Angle: It can pinpoint and measure the angle or orientation of two points in relation to each other.
  • Depth: Using a pair of stereo images, it can combine data from multiple points to measure the relative depths of holes or different levels of the product.

What Are Capability Maturity Model Levels?

Capability Maturity Models (CMMs) are another process that prioritizes standardization and in-depth quality control. These models establish five levels of capability against which different individuals, teams, or work processes can be assessed. It operates as an indirect or comparative analysis tool for marketing strengths and room for improvement. The five levels of capability maturity models are:
  • Level 1—Initial: Processes are inconsistent and arbitrary, placing the odds of success squarely on an individual. Processes are undocumented, unstandardized, and subject to relatively random success rates.
  • Level 2—Managed: This level is more standardized than the first level. There has been a basic degree of process documentation and standardization. Processes have become repeatable, and tasks are generally successful if all the steps are followed appropriately.
  • Level 3—Defined: Everyone involved in the process has a clear understanding of their role and what actions to take. Processes are well-documented and standardized, and there is a commitment to continuously improving the processes.
  • Level 4—Quantitatively Managed: Now, the success of the processes themselves is measured. Managers can collect metrics about the processes and outcomes, analyze those results to make conclusions about the effectiveness of the processes, and make more effective changes.
  • Level 5—Optimizing: Stakeholders make continuous, data-backed improvements to continuously improve work processes that drive increasingly good results.

Applications of CMM Inspection

CMM inspections are valuable throughout the manufacturing sector. As parts and assemblies become more complex, more specialized, and more efficient, manufacturers need tight quality control processes to ensure that parts fit the parameters of the original design project. So CMMs are used to inspect geometrically complex goods, molded or machined parts, electronic assemblies, and more. With advanced CMMs, manufacturers can measure everything from the dimensions to the smoothness of the surface finish to ensure quality compliance.

CMM inspections are particularly vital in these industries:


CMM inspections are frequently used for:

  • Turbines
  • Engine parts
  • Machined goods


Automotive manufacturers use CMM inspections to assess the dimensional requirements of the following parts within accepted tolerances:

  • Transmission system parts
  • Engine blocks
  • Gaskets

Medical Devices

Manufacturers use CMM inspections to confirm the quality of essential products such as stents, pacemakers, and artificial joints.


Military manufacturing companies use CMMs to ensure aircraft engine parts, weaponry components, and missile parts comply with necessary standards.


CMM inspections are used to assess microchips, electric connectors, and printed circuit board configurations.

Mold Making

Molds are tested to ensure they maintain all necessary design considerations.

Tool and Die Making

CMMs can measure tools and dies across every dimension before production begins.


CMM inspections are vital for ensuring the high-quality production of turbines, generator components, and power transmission systems.

CMM Inspection Services in Atlanta From Coweta Precision Tech

Optimize your quality assurance processes with CMM inspection services from Coweta Precision Tech. We serve local manufacturers with complete CMM inspection options that align with industry standards and best practices. Contact us today to get started.
Copyright © 2023 Coweta Tech Precision. Website Design + Development by Jason Hunter Design
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram